About this building
In the heart of Boom, on the market square, the Church of Our Lady and Saint Roch bears witness to an old parish, separated from that of Kontich as early as the thirteenth century.
The town was almost entirely destroyed during the fighting of 1573-1577; a first church was raised in 1665 in the middle of today's square. The building seen today was erected in 1848-1850, on the site of a former castle, to the designs of the architect Francois Drossaert. It is a cruciform basilica in neo-Gothic style, built of Boom brick; its four-storey west tower is crowned by a lantern and a slender...
In the heart of Boom, on the market square, the Church of Our Lady and Saint Roch bears witness to an old parish, separated from that of Kontich as early as the thirteenth century.
The town was almost entirely destroyed during the fighting of 1573-1577; a first church was raised in 1665 in the middle of today's square. The building seen today was erected in 1848-1850, on the site of a former castle, to the designs of the architect Francois Drossaert. It is a cruciform basilica in neo-Gothic style, built of Boom brick; its four-storey west tower is crowned by a lantern and a slender spire, to which the old spire of the previous church was added in 1865.
The rib-vaulted interior preserves fine works: a Veneration of Our Lady of Boom painted by Peter Weleman (1616) and a polychrome statue of the Virgin by the same master, alongside canvases by Jan van den Hoecke and Gummarus Dom (1787). The furnishings are largely of the nineteenth century, and the organ was built in 1902 by Jos Stevens, reusing parts of an older instrument. The church is listed in the inventory of architectural heritage.
Labels
Hours
Closed







Comments (0)