Nos événements
Seven centuries of the Saint-Sulpice Church
This year, the Sint-Sulpitius Church on the Grote Markt in Diest celebrates its 700th birthday. This summer, the city of Diest and the Royal Friends of the Sint-Sulpitius Church put the spotlight on this building with the exhibition 'Seven centuries of the Sint-Sulpitius Church'.
Reservation required via reservatie@vriendenvansintsulpitius.be
Event Host Building
Saint Sulpicius
In the midst of the market stands the noteworthy collegiate church of Sint Sulpitius, one of the finest examples of Brabant Gothic (Demer Gothic). It was built mainly in 1417-1534 using the characteristic reddish brown brick. The choir dates from 1320. The small tower, known as “mostaardpot” (mustard pot), has a carillon with 43 bells.
The church houses interesting works of art including superb carvings on the pulpit, altars and confessionals. In the choir can be seen magnificent Late-Gothic choir stalls dated 1491 and the tomb of Philip of Orange-Nassau, who died in 1618; the font of St Jan Berchmans in the right side aisle and the treasure in a room adjoining the choir also warrant close examination. The main altar (18th C.) is by Michael van der Vorst; before it on the right is a work of the Antwerp school “Worship of the Kings”.
Building profile
Hours
Closed
Additional information
01/10-30/04: every first Sunday of the month : 1 pm-5 pmMuseum of religious art: same opening hours as church
