Nos événements
Saint Sebastian
Eucharistic celebration led by the Loyers parish choir.
Event Host Building
Saint Sebastian
Built in the 12th and 13th centuries as the chapel of Loyers castle, the building was extended in the 19th and 20th centuries to become the village parish church. It features a single nave, built in 1904 by the architect Joostens, a wooden ceiling and an ogival choir containing a theotheca or eucharistic tower, dated 1584.
The church and cemetery have preserved numerous funerary monuments from the 16th and 17th centuries. Among these is the slab of Godefroid d'Ève and Hélène de Salmier, dated 1552, embedded in the boundary wall of the old cemetery and mentioning the former county of Namur. However, only three fragments of this effigy slab remain. On the edge of one of them is an inscription in tiny Gothic letters: Godefroid d'Eve, chevalier de Loyers, at one time bailiff of Bouvignes, lieutenant under Monsieur le Marquis de Berghes, captain general of the duchy of Luxembourg and county of Chiny and since then lieutenant under monsieur le sénéchal du Hainaut, governor and sovereign bailiff of the country and county of Namur (...).
Source: Connaître la Wallonie - Frédéric Marchesani
KIKIRPA : Photo-library online
Building profile
Hours
Open
