Nos événements
Casting a beehive bell
Stolzemburg is known far beyond the borders of Luxembourg for its former copper mine, which is one of the tourist highlights in the Our Nature Park. Today, a part of the underground galleries can still be visited and thus history can be experienced at first hand. Now, between 20 June and 15 August, a beehive bell is to be made on site at the initiative of the “Syndicat d'Initiative Stolzebuerg”. This will be done according to instructions given by the 12th century Benedictine monk Theophilus Presbyter. The aim is to show all the individual steps in the manufacture of such a bell and to give visitors a - as far as possible - realistic picture of a medieval bell casting.
Due to its past, which was marked by the mining of copper ore, Stolzemburg has a close connection to this metal. Thus, the bell will now also be made of copper and tin and will then find a new home in the orphaned bell tower, the oldest building (1671) in Stolzemburg. Craft and heritage thus go hand in hand.
From 20 June and until 15 August, it will be possible to see the process of creating the beehive bell on site in Stolzemburg.
Dr Bastian Asmus*, trained art founder and founder of the Laboratory for Archaeometallurgy, will be on site four days a week.
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
Event Host Building
Saint Odo
Next to it is the neo-Gothic church built in 1885, which was the parish church for the villages of Stolzemburg and Pütscheid until 2017. It was renovated in 1955 and extended by a two-tiered campanile with a simple cross.
The monumentally shaped entrance conceals a portal supported by two columns, on which Christ is depicted with St. Abbot Odo and St. Bishop Elegius. The Gothic choir with cross ribs still dates from the earlier church. Both the nave and the choir are surrounded by a concise ambulatory.
Building profile
Hours
Open
