Nos événements

The restoration of the paintings

Monday 2 June, 14:00 16:00
Saint Germain - 3300
Image
The restoration of the paintings

For several years, the church council has been systematically restoring the church's paintings. Inge Noppe, restorer explains her work on the paintings from the church.... Quite surprisingly, the names of several painters emerged during the work. What until now had been described as the work of 17th-century Flemish masters, are now works, attributed to H. Van Baelen, J. Van Gent ...

Veemarkt, 3300 Tienen
02 June 2025 - 14:00 to 16:00

Learn more about the building

Saint Germain

Event Host Building

Saint Germain

Tienen used to be called the white town because of its whitewashed facades but nowdays the name is mostly justified by a number of white towers. From afar one sees three: from west to east there is the new water tower, the churches of Our Lady and Saint Germain. The iconic cooling tower of the sugar refinery has meanwhile been demolished. Of these towers the oldest is that of the Romanesque Saint-Germain. Its base dates back to the 12th and 13th centuries.

The church is also situated in a very privileged location: on highest point of the Veemarkt, among other ways accessible through two steep flights of stairs, with a sober carillon corner at the Apostelenhof.

The church is also an example of the region's building stones, especially the Overlaar quartzite. The tower (65 metres) and its carillon (54 bells) can occasionally be visited. UNESCO has recognised the tower as a world heritage site. In the church, you will find the organist at work. This church has been honoured with the oldest church organ of the Low Countries.

Following disasters in 1536 and 1635, some parts were rebuilt in the gothic style. In due time, some parts of the church began to lean. The choir has been lifted seven degrees from the axis of the nave and the steeple subsided after an explosion in town.

In 2003, three murals by Yvan Struys were inaugurated.

KIKIRPA : Photo-library online

See the treasures of this church online on erfgoedplus.be

Facebook

Building profile

Church
Romanesque
Catholic Church

Practical information

Carillon
Carillon
Pilgrimage site
Pilgrimage site
Organ
Organ
Disabled access
Disabled access
Toilets
Toilets

Hours

Open

Monday09:00–16:00
Tuesday09:00–16:00
Wednesday09:00–16:00
Thursday09:00–16:00
Friday09:00–16:00
Saturday09:00–16:00
Sunday09:00–12:00