Nos événements
Heritage walk
A quick tour of Fort-Mahon church...
Meet in front of the church
Learn more about the building
Event Host Building
Our Lady of the Assumption
For a long time, this area remained in its natural state, known only to fishermen and shellfish gatherers. It was not until the end of the 18th century that the first hamlet of a few souls appeared.
The real boom came with the development of seaside tourism at the end of the 19th century. The town took on a new lease of life and was transformed into a coastal resort with numerous facilities: villas, hotels, a casino and even a tramway connecting Quend-Fort-Mahon station to the beach. According to the Compagnie des Chemins de Fer du Nord railway company, the area was accessible from Paris in just three and a half hours.
Originally, a simple chapel, Sainte-Marie, formerly the home of Mrs Watel and Mrs Petit, was used for worship. When the new municipality of Fort-Mahon-Plage was created in 1922, the parish decided to build a proper church on the site of the chapel. In 1931, the work was entrusted to architect Louis Quételard, based in Le Touquet-Paris-Plage. Due to a lack of funding, the bell tower and porch were not built. It was not until the 1950s that the current porch was erected.
Stepping through the doors of the Church of Our Lady of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is like stepping into a timeless world, right in the heart of the resort's main thoroughfare, while enjoying remarkable Art Deco architecture with neo-Byzantine influences.
Building profile
Hours
Open

