Nos événements

le cellier martin nde25 eof eng

Saturday 28 June, 09:00 19:00
Saint-Martin de Tours - 44850
Image
le cellier martin nde25 eof eng

Guided tour of the church and ‘Jardin(s)’ exhibition.

Place Saint-Méen, 44850 Le Cellier
28 June 2025 - 09:00 to 19:00

Learn more about the building

Saint-Martin de Tours

Event Host Building

Saint-Martin de Tours

On the heights of the Loire stands the Saint Martin's chuch of Le Cellier. The village takes its name from the Latin ‘cellarium’, meaning larder. This toponomy is a reminder of the area's past, marked by the presence of priories on the hillsides, notably that of Saint Mewan, whose chapel can still be seen today.

In the 19th century, the site was developed and a new, larger church was built from 1896 onwards. The church of Saint Martin replaced an earlier church dating from the 15th to 16th centuries. The Romanesque-Byzantine plans were designed by the architect René-Michel Ménard, who was unable to carry out the work. The work was entrusted to architects Lagaury and Libaudière. Due to a lack of funds, the work had to be interrupted and was not resumed until after the First World War.

Recently restored, the church still dominates the landscape and is easily recognisable thanks to its schist stone, typical of the region. It is now listed as a Historic Monument.

Building profile

Catholic Church

Practical information

Organ
Organ
Disabled access
Disabled access
Toilets
Toilets
Kid’s Corner
Kid’s Corner

Hours

Open

Monday09:00–18:00
Tuesday09:00–18:00
Wednesday09:00–18:00
Thursday09:00–18:00
Friday09:00–18:00
Saturday09:00–18:00
Sunday09:00–18:00
Monday09:00–19:00
Tuesday09:00–19:00
Wednesday09:00–19:00
Thursday09:00–19:00
Friday09:00–19:00
Saturday09:00–19:00
Sunday09:00–19:00