Nos événements

Presentation of the new flag

Saturday 6 June, 10:30 11:00
Chapelle du Glacis - L-1114
Image
Presentation of the new flag

Roger Richardy presents the flag he designed for the American Luxembourg Society.

in Luxembourgish and English

At 11 am there will be a Holy Mass during which the flag will be blessed.

Rue Nicolas Adames, L-1114 Luxembourg-Glacis
06 June 2026 - 10:30 to 11:00

Learn more about the building

Chapelle du Glacis

Event Host Building

Chapelle du Glacis

In Luxembourg, the Glacis chapel stands on the very spot where a first chapel of that name had risen as early as 1626. It is bound to one of the country's dearest devotions: that of Our Lady, Consoler of the Afflicted. Nearby, on 8 December 1624, the Jesuit father Jacques Brocquart and his students had set up a linden-wood statue of the Virgin; struck by the plague in 1626, the father vowed to complete the sanctuary if he recovered, and inaugurated it on 10 May of that year.

From this place a great pilgrimage was born. As early as 1639 the statue was carried in procession to the Jesuit church, later the cathedral, to be venerated there for an octave: so began the Octave, Luxembourg's national pilgrimage. Destroyed during the French Revolution, the chapel saw the holy image pass definitively to the cathedral in 1794. The present chapel is a rebuilding of 1885, wished by Bishop Nicolas Adames, raised to the plans of the state architect Charles Arendt, and consecrated by Bishop Jean-Joseph Koppes.

Six great stained-glass windows by Émile and Denise Probst-Massin have unfolded since 1966 the story of Marian veneration in Luxembourg, while a large tapestry adorns the choir. The chapel holds the tombs of the country's first two bishops, Nicolas Adames and Jean-Joseph Koppes.

Building profile

Chapel
Catholic Church

Practical information

Toilets
Toilets