Nos événements
Saint Aldegund
Open church : free visit
Event Host Building
Saint Aldegund
Seen from the outside, the building is in the shape of a Latin cross with two distinctive parts. The older Gothic part dates from the 16th century and was built in blue stone from the well known quarries of the region. This is the chapel Saint Michael, which was built at the initiative of Michel de Croy, knight of the Golden Fleece, a member of the illustrious and renowned princely family still present in the region, notably in the castle close to Roeulx.. The other part of the church is in brick and is from the 18th century.
Inside one sees the fine brick vaults of the choir and transept and several original and unexpected artworks: As well as the mausoleum of Michel de Croy, the tombstone of Blandina Rubens, sister of the painter Pierre-Paul Rubens, and her husband Siméon du Parcq, there are also the memorials of the van der Burch (17th century),the Assumption of Gaspar De Crayer (1584-1669),the organ Cavaillé-Coll, unique to Hainault and the gift of Anna Boch.
KIKIRPA : Photo-library online
Building profile
Hours
Open
Celebration times
Saturday 6 pm



