Nos événements

JEP 2020 - Les Jeunes Ambassadeurs du Patrimoine à Dun-sur-Meuse

Saturday 19 September, 14:00 18:00
Sunday 20 September, 14:00 18:00
Notre-Dame de Bonne Garde - 55110
Image
event_9842_photo_fr_1600189994.jpg
Visite guidée par des Jeunes de l'église de Dun-sur-Meuse
Esplanade des Seigneurs d'Apremont, 55110 Dun-sur-Meuse
19 September 2020 - 14:00 to 18:00
20 September 2020 - 14:00 to 18:00

Learn more about the building

Notre-Dame de Bonne Garde

Event Host Building

Notre-Dame de Bonne Garde

Situated within the fortifications which were built as early as the 10th Century, and which overlook the town, the massive church of Our Lady was built in 1346 by the Lords of Apremont. After centuries of conflicts, today it is the only remaining monument in the upper town.

Classified as a historical monument, the Gothic building is a jewel of ogival architecture and offers a surprisingly harmonious interior. The stained glass windows, funeral memorials, ancient paintings and funeral decors, sculptures and low relief modern sculptures, rub shoulders with surprising 18th Century furnishings that are classified ; the high altar and canopy of wood and marble, pulpit, organ case… There are also two sculptures by Ipoustéguy , a world famous artist who was born in Dun on the Meuse in 1920 ; “ The death of Bishop Neuwman” and a “Christ”.

With the Gaulish Oppidium, followed by a Roman Castrum, the high cliff on which the church is situated has always watched over the valley which is several miles wide. Today the site offers a remarkable panorama of the Meuse valley flowing below, and the villages around.

Building profile

Church
Gothic
Catholic Church

Practical information

Graveyard
Graveyard

Hours

Open

Monday09:00–18:00
Tuesday09:00–18:00
Wednesday09:00–18:00
Thursday09:00–18:00
Friday09:00–18:00
Saturday09:00–18:00
Sunday09:00–18:00