Nos événements

Le loto du Patrimoine 2020 pour les travaux du clocher

Saturday 19 September, 10:00 12:00
Saturday 19 September, 14:00 17:00
Sunday 20 September, 10:00 12:00
Sunday 20 September, 14:00 17:00
Saint-Laurent - 14480 (Villiers-le-Sec)
Image
event_9862_photo_fr_1600256496.jpg
L'unique site du Calvados retenu au titre du Loto du Patrimoine 2020 vous accueille en ces JEP 2020 pour découvrir ce clocher bien malade et qui mérite beaucoup de soins : Construite à la fin du XIIe siècle, l'église saint Laurent et saint Georges de Villiers-Le-Sec dispose d'un choeur et clocher en tour lanterne centrale avec un toit en bâtière. Originairement dotée d'une nef unique, celle-ci s'effondre en 1760 par manque de fondations stables. Elle fut rapidement reconstruite et remplacée par une nef avec bas-côtés pour une meilleure stabilité par le seigneur de Villiers, Messire Oliviers d'Amours. L’église est voisine du château de Bainville-en-Villiers, qui s’ouvre par un remarquable porche du XVIIe siècle. Leurs histoires respectives sont entremêlées. Visite du four à pain aux mêmes horaires.
Rue de l'Eglise, 14480 Creully-sur-Seulles (Villiers-le-Sec)
19 September 2020 - 10:00 to 12:00
19 September 2020 - 14:00 to 17:00
20 September 2020 - 10:00 to 12:00
20 September 2020 - 14:00 to 17:00
Christophe BAUCHET

Learn more about the building

Saint-Laurent

Event Host Building

Saint-Laurent

The church of St.Laurent is situated a few kilometres from Bayeux, and the sea-resort of Asnelles, in the community of Villiers-le-Sec, attached to the new community of Creully-sur-Seulles.

It is close to the mansion of Bainville-en-Villiers, which opens with a remarkable 17th century porch. Their respective histories are mixed.

Built at the end of the 12th century, the church was first dedicated to St.Laurent, and secondly to St.Georges. These saints are represented on two paintings which were originally part of the retable over the main altar. Replaced since by two statues, they can be seen today in the NW angle of the church nave. The church has a nave and side aisles, rebuilt in the 18th century when the nave fell in. The rebuilding was undertaken at the time due to the help of the local lord.

A remarkable separation between the nave and the Romanesque part of the church exists ; the tower and the sanctuary are classified Historical Monument since 22 October 1913.

The present-day altar is placed under the remarkable lantern-tower, a characteristic and singular element of the sector, having kept its arches in the Romanesque style.

The Romanesque sanctuary has a beautiful collection of 18th century furnishings, a main-altar, a retable and its decor. The retable has a representation of the Agony of Christ in the Garden of Olive trees, by the painter Jacques Noury, dated 1826.

The church of St.Laurent bears traces of the period of the Little Seminary in Villers-le-Sec, with the inscription of the Apostels, and the capitals reduced to make way for a wooden decor.

Today a subscription with the Foundation for Patrimony to save the lantern-tower has been started :

Building profile

Church
Catholic Church

Practical information

Graveyard
Graveyard
Disabled access
Disabled access

Hours

Open

Monday09:00–17:00
Tuesday09:00–17:00
Wednesday09:00–17:00
Thursday09:00–17:00
Friday09:00–17:00
Saturday09:00–17:00
Sunday09:00–17:00
Monday09:00–19:00
Tuesday09:00–19:00
Wednesday09:00–19:00
Thursday09:00–19:00
Friday09:00–19:00
Saturday09:00–19:00
Sunday09:00–19:00